Talisker Distillery was founded in 1830 by the brothers Hugh and Kenneth MacAskill of Eigg, sons of the doctor for the Small Isles. Along with most other malt distilleries, Talisker was closed between 1941 – 45 because of government restrictions on the supply of barley to conserve food supplies during the Second World War. Production ceased for a second time when the stillhouse was destroyed by fire on 22nd November 1960 and in a major exercise to conserve the unique flavour of Talisker, the five stills which had been lost in the fire were replaced with exact copies when the distillery re-opened in 1962.
Bitter chocolate and fudge pralines. Toasted nuts with late salt and pepper. The palate is astonishingly toffeeish, then toasty. The distracting richness of these flavours introduces a shock of contrast when the seaweed and characteristic volcanic flavours suddenly erupt. An explosion in a gale on the finish.